Toffee Chocolate Chip Milk Cookies

I love Health bars. Like can’t eat just one bar even though I’m on a complete sugar high and I know I will crash and burn soon love. So when I found Health Toffee Bits at Wegmans I had to buy a bag. Unfortunately, THERE WAS NO CHOCOLATE. It was just the toffee. I know, the bag said “toffee bits” but come on. What is toffee unless it is coated in chocolate? Don’t pretend like you don’t agree.

Image

So anywho, I wanted to make a super crispy cookie with these toffee bits, because I was in the mood to dunk my cookie in a giant glass of milk. I started with the Hershey’s recipe for Oatmeal Toffee Cookies, but changed a few things because I have problems with following recipes.

They turned out pretty good – crunchy and perfect for dunking… and stacking?

Image

Ingredients:

    • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter or margarine, browned and cooled
    • 1 cup sugar
    • 1 cup light brown sugar
    • 2  eggs
    • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
    • 1-3/4 cups all-purpose flour
    • 1 teaspoon baking soda
    • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
    • Sprinkle of nutmeg
    • 1/2 teaspoon salt
    • 3 cups quick-cooking oats
    • 1 1/3 cups HEATH Toffee Bits
    • 3/4 – 1 cup Dark Chocolate Chips (optional, but highly recommended)

Brown the butter. Set aside to cool (I got impatient and put mine in the refrigerator for 5-10 minutes).

Mix the (somewhat) cooled butter with the sugar, then add the eggs and vanilla.

Mix the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and oats and together, and stir into the butter mixture. Add toffee bits and chocolate chips.

Resist eating all of the batter. Create balls for the individual cookies and then slightly flatten them with a spoon before baking. My oven does not calibrate temperature correctly, but it took 8-12 minutes at 375. Take them out when the edges look crispy and the center looks slightly doughy. It will firm up while the cookies rest.

Leave a Reply

