Stonehenge + Bath

We didn’t have any tickets to Olympics events on Wednesday, so we got a car and went to Stonehenge and Bath. Stonehenge had amazing history, but was definitely overshadowed in my mind my Bath. Bath might be one of my favorite cities I have ever been to – the history is rich and the entire city looks like it is straight from a movie. We spent about 3 hours touring the Roman Baths (the Great Bath, which is still active but not in use for bathing reasons, dates back to 5000 BC) and it was one of the most incredible places I have ever been.  After we toured the baths and surrounding building, we went and took a tour of Jane Austen’s house. She wrote frequently of Bath, and afterwards Kendra and Mom went on a walk where she has a scene in one of her books (Papa and I went back to put more money in the time meter for our car). We walked around the city a bit more, and then Papa drove us (on the left hand side of the road with a manual car!) back about two hours to Central London.

A child’s highlight of Stonehenge hehe 🙂

Stonehenge, check! Now to Bath! We had lunch at Yak Yeti Yak. It was amazing Thai food – be sure to get the corn fritters and yellow curry, they were my favorite.

 

After lunch, we walked around Central Bath (about 3 block from Yak Yeti Yak).

The whole city looked like this. B-E-A-UTIFUL.

Roman Baths

 

Some of my other Bath highlights were the Pump Room, Royal Victoria Park and Sally Lunn’s House (Bath Buns).

 

One response to “Stonehenge + Bath

  1. Love the blog Tori – keep it coming.

    Hope the Jane Austen tour wasn’t too depressing. I feel like every time her characters visited Bath they got dumped or caught trying to elope.

    Anyway, enjoy the trip!

Leave a comment